Accept

Accept the unacceptable
Where my heart goes to hide
It hurts beyond the bearable
Still – Acceptance hurts my pride
You are gone, it was inevitable
But, you took too much of me
How do I begin to reconcile
The me I cannot see
The truest form of wisdom
Knows goodbye and loneliness
Truth knows my life without you
Isn’t such a mess
Acknowledging your distance
You give what once was mine
Still, I have our memories
Count treasured years in time
In acceptance I am letting go
In acceptance of these fears
Still I felt you need to know
It devastates me so
I’ve left it far too late
This acceptance is killing me
Yet, wisdom does dictate
I guess time has come to let you be
And with acceptance I’ll be free

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Renate
    Jan 19, 2014 @ 14:19:01

    What I have learned from my moms passing on is that a single death can transform your life, especially if the bond of closeness and friendship shared. And it doesn’t matter whether that parent was beloved or resented, whether the relationship was close or distant, warm or cold, harmonious or hotly conflictual. It doesn’t even matter how old you are, or how old your parent was at the time of death. For most people, the death of a parent, particularly when the parent is of the same sex, is life altering. I was emotionally unmoored, adrift in the wreckage of lost love, lost lives, and my own shattered identity.Slowly, a new self emerged, one that felt and claimed the status of grown-up Death embedded deep in me a knowledge of my limit, our limits, and that, oddly enough, felt like the beginning of maturity, what replaced it was the awareness of how vulnerable every life is, how uncertain its duration. The awakening of living, loving those close to you and treat those around you with kindness in loving memories of a Saint a mother and a friend….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

