Unpacking Grief

Slowly,
After months,
I unpack what Was
Unprepared
Still scared
Like a grief demon
On the prowl
My little treasures
Make me howl
At God, the moon
You
Some haphazard
Packed in haste
Didn’t stop to taste
The waste
Some wrapped carefully
Sacred
Pictures of you,
And us
Bubble wrapped,
So, smile I must
At your playful side
Some,
I threw in boxes
Tried to hide
The me that hurt
The me that cried
Too busy, no place
To read your words
Blocked your shroud
Faked made proud
To set down these
While on knees
I pray
And thank God
You are kept safe,
While I hid you, Inside
Climbed walls
At night,
Fearing the light
Heard your calls
And saw you
With second sight
I did what’s right
Mistakes included
In glorious life
Now concluded
On display
I had your space
Beside my heart
I place your pictures
Not too far apart
And;
Now, I see your smile
Everyday
I have overcome
Everyday
I have won
In my own way
I see you, and say
Thank You Mom
I am alive today

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theparisreviewblog
    Jan 27, 2014 @ 00:22:39

    I love the alliteration of place your pictures. As a literary blogger, I feel so inspired by the emotion within this poem. Great post!

    Reply

    • PastelPoetry
      Jan 27, 2014 @ 12:57:31

      Wow! Thanks so much. I am very new at this and I am humbled by your comment. Any constructive criticism is very welcome. Have a Fantastic week!!! 🙂

      Reply

    • PastelPoetry
      Mar 31, 2014 @ 00:36:25

      Thank You Thank You Thank You
      Did visit your blog and I was very impressed. Felt like, “Hey…….this is the BIG leagues!!” I am awful so respond so late, only excuse is it is all very new to me. Forgive me? XX

      Reply

Leave a Reply

