From There To Here

Took a while
To get from there
To here
From far
To near
Eradicate the fear
You took my smile
Made me cry
Forgot laughter
Accepted never after
When you left
What you said
Stuck
In my head
Heart left for dead
When you wed
Another
What she said
Makes sense
I am so sorry
For me it cannot be
For me there’s no
Pretense
What you have is real,
So, She didn’t steal
You were never mine
And now I’m fine
Crossed some line
Previously undefined
Maturity achieved
When I ceased to
Believe
And, I make my own
Forever after
Design a life
Within disaster
And in this way
I reclaim laughter
The fine lines
Around tired eyes
Finally resigned
Not bound by lies
So, you take care
Be happy
Be content
Find peace without
While within bent
I am not sorry
I’ll take my time
Please do not worry
I will be fine
But,
Remember always
The price of a crime
Humanity delivered
Humility shivered
I’ve paid for mine
Please do not worry
I’m relieved
And know I am sorry
It took a while
To get from there
To here
From far
To near
To finally know
And
To let you go
Last night I finally slept
Thankful that you left

Posted By PastelPoetry from WordPress

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. richardankerswrites
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 21:28:42

    Wow! That’s going to strike a chord with a lot of people. Great poem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

