Thin Walls

Walls thin
The voices penetrate
At first, just disagreeing
Escalates to shouts
Of
Misunderstood
Then
Of her head as it hits wood
And
Fist
I am insulated, if reminded
Of
Before
Healed
My eyes cry her tears
Now
I wish she would walk out
Why stay
She’s in the way
And his aim is true
I did, I do
Everyday, in my mind, I leave you
I cannot
I will not
Feel her, when she was me
I nearly killed her
In the name of “love”,
Stays too true
A lifetime of forgive me
Until the choice is simple
Leave
Hope
Survive
If you’re blessed
Then love again, gentle
Removed from the mess
Heart incorrectly wired
Confess
Once replaced
No more trace
Of ignorance
Don’t live compliance
With an Unrecognized Face
Head rewired
Instead show defiance
Make freedom your safe place
If you must have scars
Call them your trophies
Break the prison bars
And go, please!

Painting courtesy of:
Bruised Face, Broken Heart
by AbbasGirl

http://abbasgirl.deviantart.com/art/Bruised-Face-Broken-Heart-292210671

This work is oil on canvas. Reference photo by Warrengoldswain at Dreamstime.com

Posted By PastelPoetry from WordPress

Leave a Reply

