The Ghost of You

The Ghost of You
The ghost of you…visits uninvited
Adrenaline spikes, frightened
They told me I am strong enough
To break free
No warning that I’d feel a twitch,
Where you used to be
They never said how long is enough
To separate you from me
They never explained the phantom itch
Where your source used to be
I trusted when I was unsure
I rusted from inside, denied cure
I lusted in the longest nights
Tormented thoughts relay slights
It didn’t diminish
It didn’t help finish
The tale that was we two
Or the ending that stays too new
Even as days turn; months to years
And I’m replaced by memory
This trickery
Will be my death
On knees I will confess
And the Ghost I see
Will not be confused,
The mirror I believe
Or shadows I choose
This contemplation of loss
Is in my mind, and I watch
A spectator sport
This choice, this last resort
Finds how to say goodbye
While I Disallow hope,
Scourge clean caustic soap
To carry on, as always
Even Exempted, I’m less these days
I brake, I fail, I call
The best of my love,
Was my greatest fall

Photo:
Little Blue by Aimee Stewart

Posted By PastelPoetry from WordPress

Leave a Reply

