The 4th Rose

Nobody knows
The depth
The pain
The knowledge
That sweats
My body
And stains
My soul
Before You came
And I was alone
You said I’m the fire
And you are the rain
That when we’re together
We overcome the pain
I said you are reason
And I am insane
That when we’re together
I can think clearly again
Bedroom kisses
A single red rose
Placed on my wishes
And replaces my clothes
I cannot define
When I crossed
The line
Between letting go
And
Fighting for what’s mine
I keep you close
You have my time
Align my body
Occupy my mind
You are heat
My ability to speak
Down to one word, “Please…”
When I am in your arms
I refuse release
Intimacy demands
This tenderness you teach
Superstition commands
That I claw and scratch
Don’t say you love me
I’m not your great catch
I will leave my mark
You are my ultimate match
I gift you Trust
You are strength at my side
And that is enough
You are the place I can hide
My surrender knows
You are where my heart goes
You are my freedom
And, I Am The Rose

~

All pictures courtesy of:
layoutsparks.com green butterfly
Fantasy Fairy Rose
cn.dreamstime.com
Rose Fantasy Flickr.com
Larrymuffin.blogspot.com
Sodahead.com – Kezzi
Nude: Halel « Dire News Kazak.com
Rose Woman desktopnexus.com

Posted By PastelPoetry from WordPress © 2001

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. richardankerswrites
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 06:58:54

    That was lovely.

    Reply

  2. charlypriest
    Jun 24, 2014 @ 08:44:11

    This was a great read. Like the short lines. I read it out loud in my own head and it has a nice rhythm to it. Plus is tender 🙂

    Reply

  3. Rob McShane
    Jun 25, 2014 @ 07:48:46

    So glad you posted the series! 🙂 Love our poetry! Really evocative! Phew!
    Thank you! 🙂

    Reply

    • PastelPoetry
      Jun 25, 2014 @ 09:55:17

      Hello!! 🙂
      Thanks for the encouragement! My regards to your lovely lady (Michelle) – I’m sure she’s contributed in making you a great (and gentle) critic.
      Chat and visit soon 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

