Excuses

Easily startled
Easily hurt
You might think I am hardened
But, that didn’t work
I boasted I’m brave
I protested out loud
But, most important
Tried making you proud
The truth is I love you
And, I always have
Nothing you’ve done
Has made that go bad
I guess pride is useless
And, I should admit it
Amid my excuses
That now seem so stupid
I wanted much more
But, couldn’t say
Released by a calling
I have to obey
I want to be yours
Please say that I may
This uncertainty gnaws
And rips at my soul
Come to me darling
So I can be whole

Posted By PastelPoetry from WordPress © 2001

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rob McShane
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 15:16:31

    nice one! Flows nicely (except the commas after the ‘And’ and ‘But’ hooked me a bit – don’t know if you need them?) Enjoyed it though….thanks! 🙂

    Reply

    • PastelPoetry
      Jul 25, 2014 @ 15:23:37

      Hello Rob, thanks for the read and the encouragement (always 😉 hugs!!). When I read your new comment I noticed the reply to this one is gone – internet gremlins or lazy fingers, either is possible! Have an absolutely amazing weekend!! Louise

      Reply

  2. charlypriest
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 17:28:35

    Very nice, tenderly-romantic poem would be my way of describing it.

    May even just made up a sub sub category….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

