South Africa, Home

I was born the blonde of Big Bay sands
My eyes blue, with remembered tears
Cornrows of wheat strands
Where warriors stood atop Devil’s peak
And all knew the language I speak
I sang remembrance in a drum beat
And ushered in the sunrise
My fists curled as I raized the sun
With Zulu spear and thong
My ancestral home, Cradle of Mankind
This is where I belong
If you look toward the rainbow
And hear every colour in a song
The people I love are everywhere I go
Amid generations of Mother ululation
A new world built from ashes
Formed glorious in creation
With a mountain backdrop
Protea landfills and graceful Springbok
Where rock worn waves crash
In pride that will never stop
The rush of Rugby and Cricket
The regeneration of aloe and love
Betting on handshakes and Acacia
The Big Five, gold, diamond mining
Heat that enfolds me close
Coal fed with dreaded timing
Ever hardened I flower Cacti
Arid splinters, rough heeled I chose
to hold back the sea that brings flood
While salted eyes fix in prayer above
Inhaled scented centuries of blood
Spilled when I walked barefoot
Across the Sub Sahara plains
My soul at peace understood
These my footprints are the stains
As my home turned and returned
We are all just human remains
Our lessons too well learned
This is my heart and in it I see Forever
I aim for the highest peak
This is our land, we live it together
Breadth as wide as it is deep
This is our home, we will make it better
‘Til honeyed fields our children greet
South Africa, Home
Umuzi, Tuiste, Kediaman ~ Ikhaya

Posted By PastelPoetry from WordPress © 2001

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. charlypriest
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 16:19:35

    What a beauty for pictures, apart from the poem. What luck you have to live there. If it wasn´t for my friend the Lion, I don´t want to end up like that zebra, I´d be living over there in the woods. Although hopefully with wi-fi if possible.

    Reply

    • PastelPoetry
      Aug 19, 2014 @ 17:00:07

      Hello Charly 🙂
      How are you?
      There’s wi-fi everywhere, don’t worry. No real woods, we call it “bush” – and you would be quite safe (from predators ;))
      I include the female population in this sentence!!
      Seriously, would love to have you visit 😀
      Take care my friend, thanks as always for the visit and support.
      Hugs L
      XOXO

      Reply

      • charlypriest
        Aug 19, 2014 @ 17:02:37

        You´ll see me one day on riding on top of that lion
        So female predators….going swimming if I have to, punch a white shark if need be.

  2. PastelPoetry
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 17:09:20

    Charly

    Never fear! I told you I have 6 sisters? We will protect you (until you say otherwise :D)

    Take care
    XX

    Reply

Leave a Reply

