Sadness

image

Sadness that enters bone
Tissue, sinew and blood
To My soul
Where you Shove
And
Map stars to some other destiny
Tortuous travel unbidden
You leave me, I taste your felony
The melancholy rides
Hard
No sunrise, no moon, no birdsong
Contentment hurries away to hide
Scurries away shadows long
Nothing
Can lift that cloak of damage
I lift chin proudly
“I can manage…”
But, jaw is brick and plaster
Awaiting the moment it shatters
Lips tremble and bite disaster
Until sadness is all that matters
It is all I taste
It is alone
Wherever the place
It is home
Where always I wait
It is you
It is us in our waste
The tears fill and fall
Sadness is me
Now we are no more

Leave a Reply

