Forgetting

rake torn bitten nails 
Down lonely hollow spine
I raise perfect sails
I am poised for the climb 
I whisper to nobody
While I kiss you goodbye 
On your forehead 
As if you were friend
And I prepare the descent
Because you were never mine
Not even to hold one more time
Though rolling clouds sweep Cobwebs of pale blue skies
I am sadly reluctant to release 
I am my pale cheeks 
Streaked ashen with memory
while I…..
Slip into comfortable forgetting 
Slip into the deepest blue
Slip into night less moon light 
Slip into day less you.
Slip into something true
Slip into what was said 
Slip into somewhere different 
Try anything 
Because without you
I’m slipping away instead 



















Leave a Reply

