My Mother’s Blessing

Already I’ve broken ties that bound 

To you and to us and to that …..testimony

I was told I’m living your life

Same mistakes, same unwed wife

The lore handed down

Of a fortune teller’s words

“You will only find happiness ….Much later in life. A Contentment, A peace – but, you will have paid the price…”

When you left this world 

When you found your rest 

That end was not yours

Awake I kept Vigil 

And tamed a beast to best it

My Mother’s heart so rested

Though forever we entwine 

Her Blessings became mine

Leave a Reply

