Safety

fb_img_1448720913540

There’s safety in numbers
In not been alone
I’d have a plus one
If you’d answer your phone
There’s safety in secrets
Though no guarantee
A secret is as safe
As the person you believe
There’s safety indoors
If the locks are in place
But, even boarded up
I can feel fear’s face
There’s a safety in a lie
If by omission meant
But, If he can’t shut up
Omission is bent
There’s safety in stories
In sharing our history
I retell for perspective
Feel free to ignore me
There’s safety in nothing
I wish I could lie
The trick, my darling
Is to look me in the eye
There’s safety in love
When it is done just right
So far, I’m still fearful
And, alone every night
So far, I am safety
I stay slow, I lay low
I lock all I see
And so far, for safety
I befriend only me

 

Leave a Reply

